What motors are covered by the new EU MEPS legislation?

EU MEPS covers 2-, 4- and 6-pole single speed, three-phase induction motors in the power range 0.75 to 375 kW, rated up to 1000 V and on the basis of continuous duty operation.
The following types of motor are excluded:

  • motors designed to operate wholly immersed in a liquid;
  • motors completely integrated into a product (e.g. pump or fan) where the motor’s energy performance cannot be tested independently from the product;
  • motors specifically designed to operate:
  • at altitudes exceeding 1000 metres ASL
  • where ambient air temperatures exceed 40°C
  • in maximum operating temperatures above 400°C
  • where ambient air temperatures are less than –15°C (any motor) or less than 0°C (air-cooled motors)
  • where the water coolant temperature at the inlet to a product is less than 5°C or exceeds 25°C
  • in potentially explosive atmospheres as defined in Directive 94/9/EC
  • brake motors.

Leave a Reply